new muskie fishermen

General musky fishing discussions and questions.

Moderator: Cyberlunge

mengels

new muskie fishermen

Post by mengels » Mon Mar 25, 2013 3:11 pm

Hey guys i am new to muskie fishing i was wondering if a dipsy diver rod from a salmon fishing boat would be able to work its 9ft long and is fairly stiff. also wondering on some reel recommendations i live in Grandville and would most likely be fishing thornapple lake or lake macatawa. also what are some need to have baits and some local bait shops that have muskie stuff. I am on a budget and don’t want to spend more then 200$ or rod reel and start up baits

Thanks mark

Will Schultz

Post by Will Schultz » Mon Mar 25, 2013 3:33 pm

As you can imagine getting started in your price range buying new is pretty much impossible. You'll want to look around for good deals on used equipment and lures. This is a good source for reels, rods and lures:
http://muskie.outdoorsfirst.com/board/f ... .asp?fid=6

Back to your question... A dipsey rod would be OK for trolling but not for casting, if you're just planning to troll then you'll be OK. Match it with a good quality trolling reel and 40-50# mono, or 80-100# braid. You'll want good quality trolling leaders and you can find those at: http://www.stealthtackle.net/store/

If you meant is the rod OK for casting then the answer is no, you would hate it. That said, it isn't impossible to outfit yourself with a good rod and reel for $200. I would look for something used that will work for most lures. A MH or H action rod somewhere between 8' and 9' should be fairly easy to find used and will handle most lures. As with trolling you want to have the right leader because you don't want to lose lures and you certainly don't want to kill fish because of a failed leader.

Lastly and most importantly, before you go make sure you're prepared to catch and release a muskie. The right tools and a big enough net are important. See this: http://youtu.be/0FHyVsyMBeM