Livebait rod

General musky fishing discussions and questions.

Moderator: Cyberlunge

Esoxonthefly

Livebait rod

Post by Esoxonthefly » Fri May 27, 2011 1:22 pm

I tried a search to see if this has been covered before and I couldn't find anything so here it goes. What rod works best for dragging sucker? Is a XXH rod too much? Is a glass cat rod not enough?
"I once heard of a guy that caught a 70" muskie weighing 80 lbs...."

Mayhem

Post by Mayhem » Fri May 27, 2011 1:38 pm

Seems like most guys I've seen use a fairly long but fairly heavy rod. Something in the 8 to 9 foot range. You need something stout for the extremely hard hooksets usually used with big suckers. I would worry about hook setting power with say a cat rod or a salmon downrigger rod.
Last edited by Mayhem on Fri May 27, 2011 2:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Smada962

Post by Smada962 » Fri May 27, 2011 1:58 pm

This is a good question. I am new to live baiting for muskies myself and have been wondering the same thing so I'm curious to hear what the responses are.
Ryan Adams

Yeah well ya know, that's just like, your opinion man

edalz

Post by edalz » Fri May 27, 2011 3:23 pm

I use a XXXH 7'9" St Croix rod that is rated to 30 ounces and a 6'9" rod for suckers. I would think that you do not need a very expensive rod just a fairly stout rod. If you fish alone I would consider the rod length as landing a fish by yourself with a 8' or 9' rod would be a real challenge. Good luck and let me know where you can get suckers.
"I wish ignorance was painful".

Will Schultz

Post by Will Schultz » Fri May 27, 2011 4:12 pm