Baitcaster?

General musky fishing discussions and questions.

Moderator: Cyberlunge

ccmovi8

Baitcaster?

Post by ccmovi8 » Tue Oct 19, 2010 9:08 am

I am finally going to make the jump up to a baitcaster! One question I have is do i need to be afraid of it lol. how hard is it to get used to it since I have never used one before?

ccmovi8

Post by ccmovi8 » Tue Oct 19, 2010 9:11 am

and does anyone have one they would like to sell? I am looking for one that holds heavy line and lot's of it. I am going to use it for the great lakes too so I need one that can hold enogh line to get down to the deep water.

Will Schultz

Post by Will Schultz » Tue Oct 19, 2010 10:15 am

Sounds almost like you're looking for a casting and trolling reel. Is that right?
Self interest is for the past, common interest is for the future.

Chris Musselman

Post by Chris Musselman » Tue Oct 19, 2010 11:29 am

do i need to be afraid of it
No. I took a buddy of mine out a few days ago who had never used a baitcaster and within a couple of casts he was comfortable with it. Its really not that hard.

The biggest thing is that the reel will have an adjustable knob on the side that controls the brake and generally you want to tighten or loosen that knob until when the reel is released your bait will fall and when it hits the ground it will stop turning. This will save you a lot of misery if you do it right and you shouldn't have a problem with the spool overturning on your casts. If this happens (you'll know by the giant tangle in your line) just tighten the brake until you can cast freely.

Hope that helps and good luck making the transition, its really easy.
If I'm not going to catch fish. I might as well not be catching Muskies...

hemichemi

Post by hemichemi » Tue Oct 19, 2010 11:37 am

Concur. If I can do it, anyone can. :roll:
Alcohol and calculus don't mix —
Don't drink and derive.

ccmovi8

Post by ccmovi8 » Tue Oct 19, 2010 11:46 am