8 foot musky rod

General musky fishing discussions and questions.

Moderator: Cyberlunge

biiigfish32

8 foot musky rod

Post by biiigfish32 » Tue Jun 09, 2009 4:04 pm

Im new to musky and Im thinking about getting a 8 foot rod. Then putting an Abu Garcia 6600 reel on it. I like casting and I want to through the big spinners and swimbaits. CAn somebody tell me if this would be the best Idea.
Thanks agian
Corey P (biiigfish32)

jasonvkop

Post by jasonvkop » Tue Jun 09, 2009 5:37 pm

8' is a good choice as longer rods help with casting, fighting fish and figure 8ing. How heavy of a rod were you thinking about getting? For throwing big swimbaits like magdawgs and pounders a XH or higher rod is needed but that probably wont be best for fishing bucktails. Bucktail rods are usually on the lighter end, which helps with casting and hooks sets. I would go with an MH or H actions as that could kind of meet the needs of both. Remember, with big swimbaits the rod is the important component but for big bucktails its more the reel
The Musky Bandit strikes again!

edalz

Post by edalz » Tue Jun 09, 2009 7:33 pm

You may want to look at a 8'6" rod or even a 9' based on your experience. I would also be cautious about the ratings because the rating from my Lamiglass to my St. Croix to my other rods is all over the place. It would be best if you could see the rods first hand and if you make it to the LSC outing you would have a good opportunity to see various rod and reel combos and what the different actions feel like. Good luck!
"I wish ignorance was painful".

Jim tenHaaf

Post by Jim tenHaaf » Tue Jun 09, 2009 7:38 pm

But Ed, why stop at 9'? Go big or go home. Go for the 10 footer! HAHA!! I bet you can get some rediculously HUGE figure 8's with that thing! I guess I'll see for myself tomorrow!